A Season of Waiting

CS LewisQuote

Waiting… something I have never been very good at. I’m the person at a red light inching forward, impatiently waiting for the light to turn green again. I don’t like waiting and I never have.

Lately, however, I have been hearing God’s call for me to wait. All the changes that have happened within the past month have left nothing set into place. I find myself waiting around for something to happen. Waiting for a job. Waiting for my sub paperwork to go through. Waiting until I can spend time with my friends and my boyfriend. Waiting for my life to seem somewhat normal. Waiting and waiting and waiting.

I know that God has me waiting for a reason, but sometimes waiting is just hard. It sucks, actually. I find myself being frustrated with God that I’m having to wait. So in my frustration, I turned to His word to find encouragement and hope (This sounds like I’m being haughty but I literally had no where else to turn).

In my searching, I found a couple of verses that settled my anxious heart and helped me to know that I don’t need to take care of it, because that is God’s job.

“She does not fear bad news;
She confidently trusts the Lord to take care of her.”
Psalm 112:7


 “When doubts filled my mind,
your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.”
Psalm 94:19

No amount of anger or frustration is going to help or keep me from waiting. God has a great and amazing plan for me and I just have to wait for Him to put it into place.

Through all of this, I was reminded of a hymn that One Voice (one of the choirs I was a part of in college) sang my last year in the group. This hymn, God Leads Us Along, meant a lot to me during that last semester and now the words have been swimming in my mind bringing with them a sense of peace and comfort. I will end with the words to the hymn – may it bring you peace.

In shady green pastures, so rich and so sweet,
God leads His dear children along;
Where the water’s cool flow bathes the weary one’s feet,
God leads His dear children along.
Some through the waters some through the flood,
Some through the fire,
but all through the blood;
Some through great sorrow,
But God gives a song,
In the night season and all the day long.

Sometimes on the mount where the sun shines so bright,
God leads His dear children along;
Sometimes in the valley, in darkest of night,
God leads His dear children along.
Some through the waters some through the flood,
Some through the fire,
but all through the blood;
Some through great sorrow,
But God gives a song,
In the night season and all the day long.

Though sorrow befall us, and Satan oppose,
God leads His dear children along;
Through grace we can conquer, defeat all our foes,
God leads His dear children along.
Some through the waters some through the flood,
Some through the fire,
but all through the blood;
Some through great sorrow,
But God gives a song,
In the night season and all the day long.

Leave a Reply

