New Year, New Me

image1

 

This is me. A twenty-two year old girl who just graduated from college and is being shoved into the real world. Scary.

I just graduated this past December with a degree in Music Education from the wonderful University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. I really enjoyed my college experience and have been struggling with the transition from freedom and exciting experiences to living with my parents and screaming from boredom.

Because I graduated in December, there weren’t many positions open midyear for a choir teacher. So, since I wasn’t able to find a job, I moved back in with my parents and am a substitute in the area for the time being. All of my friends, my boyfriend, and my life are back in good old Belton, Texas – three hours away.

Now let me tell you, this was never my plan. I was always the girl that had her life together and knew exactly what was going to happen in the future. I was going to graduate college and score a job in the area and live happily ever after. So when I graduated jobless, my world was rocked.

As I am beginning 2016 with the rug having been pulled out from under me, I just want everyone to know that it’s okay. I will be okay. Life is scary right now and I have no clue what the future holds, but that’s okay. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

I may not know what the future holds for me, but I know that God’s got me. So for now, I’m twenty-something and wandering.

Leave a Reply

